Once Again Trauma Strikes Run A Muck Ranch

Sarah’s nails are getting a little long, so I decided to trim them.   She’s is one of the easier kids to give a mani/pedi to, rarely even waking up for it.

As easy as Sarah is to work with, only a moron could possibly quick her.   I would be that moron.  The event was traumatic for both of us.

The toe was cleaned, flour applied to slow the bleeding, and Sarah given a cheese transfusion to help her make it through the shock.

 

It looks worse than it appears.  I used flour to stop the bleeding.  Anyone who's ever used flour for this purpose knows you're just creating red paper mache.
It looks worse than it appears. I used flour to stop the bleeding. Though it does the trick, it ends up becoming red paper mache and makes it look like you chopped the entire toe off.  I assure you, all Sarah’s toes are in tact!

 

Anyone who has ever trimmed nails has at one time or another quicked one.  In all these years of toe wrangling, I have never seen a bleeder as bad as Sarah.   It seemed like she lost buckets.

 

We're losing her!  We're losing her!
We’re losing her! We’re losing her!

Once the bleeding finally slowed, I bandaged the foot.

 

Feet are never fun to bandage.  Put it on too loose and it falls off.  Too tight and the foot swells up.
Feet are never fun to bandage. Put it on too loose and it falls off. Too tight and the foot swells up.

 

As you can see, Sarah is still very weak from the trauma.

Once bandaged, Sarah was forced to spend the rest of the afternoon confined to the couch.

 

As you can see, couch confinement was a bitter pill to swallow.
Couch confinement was a bitter pill to swallow.

 

 

It's a terrible life.
It’s a terrible life.

At one point Sarah seemed to be in distress.

 

Gasp....Need chickin!
Gasp….Neeeeed chickin!

 

So a piece of chicken set aside from the people dinner was administered.

 

That's better.
Able to relax again!

 

An hour or so later, we decided it would be a good idea for Sarah to ambulate, so I helped her off the couch.

 

Groan.... too soon Mom!
Groan…. too soon Mom!

 

I think a little something in the way of a late evening snack might help me gain my strength back.  Just sayin...
I think a little something in the way of a late evening snack might help me gain my strength back. Just sayin…

 

Just what the doctor ordered!
Just what the doctor ordered!

 

After the strength injecting mini meal, Sarah was able to go outside to relieve herself and chase some hoo doos.

Upon return to the house, however, she hadn’t the strength to get back on the couch, or should I say, fight for her spot which had been taken by Morty, Gracie, Franky, Hector, Emmi and Pablo.  She had no other choice but to just go to bed.

 

Sarah being tended to by Nurse Marcy.
Sarah being tended to by Nurse Marcy.

And for the record…  the bandage is STILL on, even after an outside romp!

One by one the other Run A Muck Ranch dogs are quietly paying homage to Sarah, thanking her for taking one for the team.  Because of her sacrifice, it is highly unlikely I will attempt a toenail trim on any of the other kids any time soon.

 

********************

 

Word to the newbies:  Unless there is food involved, a walk, a ride somewhere, a visitor, or a bunny in the back yard, Sarah isn’t the most motivated of creatures in the world.  The photos you see are not of a dog suffering, but a dog in her natural state.  I did 2 other nails before I realized I quicked her.  She didn’t even bother to wake up when it happened.

22 thoughts on “Once Again Trauma Strikes Run A Muck Ranch

  1. I’ll deal with seizures, forced medication, and recovery from major surgery…but there’s no way I’m touching another nail after I quicked the first one. You are both brave souls.

    1. I got the dremel because I sometimes quick the little squirmy ones. Problem is, I keep hurting myself with the dremel. Looks like I’ll have to get used to the pain because it seems to hurt me more when I quick one of the kids!

  2. I remember when I first got Bertie and quicked one of his nails – if looks could kill I’d be 6ft under 😉 Glad the cheese helped – it’s the answer to all life’s problems in our house! x

  3. Sarah, I hope it heals up quickly. You’re right it looks much more worse than it is, with all that blood. Easy isn’t a fan of the pawdicure he acts like a doofus, so we have to visit the vet. But I wish I could do it at home too.

    1. We couldn’t afford to go to the vet, or a groomer for that matter, for all 14. I’ll just have to be more paranoid, I mean careful, next time.

  4. What happened to you and Sarah is the exact reason I don’t want to trim LadyBird’s nails. I am sure you hurt way worse than Sarah, but you made up for it with the chicken!!

  5. Aw, poor Sarah. And like the good canine ‘travel agent,’ it seems clear Mom went on a guilt trip. Funny how that happens but hey, we’ve all been there and done it-no need to beat yourself up over it. Glad to see Ms. Sarah on the path to recovery. 😉

    1. I don’t beat myself up over nails. I feel bad, but I have yet to do permanent damage, so I guess I’m doing oK

Leave a Reply

