On Crazy Dog Ladies in Denial

With the advances of digital photography comes the curse of date stamps on photos. This curse reared its ugly head during a recent trip down memory lane.

 

Hector after his cherry eye surgery, December 31, 2006.
Hector after his cherry eye surgery, December 31, 2006. He came to us a foster dog about 2 weeks before.

 

We can’t remember how old Hector was at the time he moved in, but he was at least 2. For some reason I think he was estimated to be 3. Now let’s do the math: 2015-2006 = 9. 9+2 = 11. Hector is at least 11 years old. If my recollection is correct, however, he’s 12.

 

DASH! the day he met Crabby, January 8, 2008.
DASH! establishing some ground rules the day after he arrived, January 8, 2008.

DASH! never shared his age when he first graced us with his presence, but he was an adult. My recollection is the vet estimated him to be the generic ‘between 1 and 3’. Let’s do the math again:  2015-2008=7.    7+1 =8. DASH! is at least 8, but he could be as old as 11.

 

When the harsh reality hit, I lamented to Crabby that I thought The Boys were around 5 or 6 years old.  According to Crabby I’ve been saying that for years.

 

Somewhere along the way, as misfits moved in and others passed away, Hector and DASH!  not only got older, but became seniors.

 

I choose not to see seniors.  I choose to see My Boys as they truly are:

 

Hector, December 2014
Hector, December 2014

 

DASH! August 2014
DASH! August 2014

 

I have decided to stick to my claim that Hector and DASH! are around 5 and 6 years old, for now and for the foreseeable future.

 

21 thoughts on “On Crazy Dog Ladies in Denial

  1. We just lost my dog, who I was always saying was about 8, but I did the math and he was actually 15! My other two have both reached double digits now. I don’t how it happened!

    1. I am so sorry for your loss. I’m also glad I found a kindred spirit in refusing to acknowledge the passage of time!

      What was your dog’s name? I can’t access your blog through your gravatar to learn more about him.

      1. Thanks, he was a great boy! His name was Magic. I had him from the time I was in 4th grade all the way past when I graduated college. That should have been some indication that he was getting older but I never really noticed.

      2. It’s good that Magic never changed in your eyes through the years. He was one lucky dog! And of course you are the luckiest person in the world to have shared your life with him. You have experiences and memories none of us will ever be fortunate enough to know. That makes you the luckiest person in the world!

  2. “you are as young as you feel” – – well Duh! – -your boys are in great shape and totally enjoying the running and the MUD! . . It seems pets – dogs in particular – seem younger than their years for so long! – – I hope you are blessed with a multitude of seasons blessed with DASH! and with Hector!

    1. No worries Kali, as it said in the caption, DASH! was just setting down the ground rules, as in when on the couch, humans must always yield to DASH!

  3. Well, we would say that sweet Hector and sweet Dash are a good example of “We are as old as we feel” and we will add act to that. They both look young and wonderful to us. Hugs and nose kisses

  4. I agree that they should be 5 or 6 forever! Occasionally I sit down and do the math around here too, and am never happy with the results. When we found pal 9 years ago we thought he was about 4 years old, and the vet said no, closer to 7….. either way, math sucks.

    1. Actually, you make me feel better… most people would wonder what kind of person I am not to remember the ages of the nimwits – but you’re in the same boat. When you have so many you can’t list them alphabetically without writing them down, and even then you goof, a little forgiveness is warranted when we choose to believe they remain forever in a specific age bracket 🙂

  5. I still feel about 30 in my head, but will be 48 this year – my dog is staying young forever right along with me LOL! I *love* the photos of Hector and DASH! – fabulous 🙂

Leave a Reply

