Pablo’s Dental Trauma

Pablo went in for his dental work, at a discount clinic, which was significantly cheaper than the vet estimate.

All told, he lost 7 teeth:  2 fell out during the cleaning, the other 5 were ‘extracted’.  I say ‘extracted’ because the vet who did the procedure seriously discounted it because, “the usual technique was not required because the teeth were severely underminded”.  In other words, they would have fallen out on their own in the near future.

Pablo’s recovery was very fast.  Perhaps the best part of getting this over with is that we can now sit in the same room with him without being exposed to The Breath of Death.

 

Pablo is quite smitten with the people bed, so that is where he was put to convalesce when he got home.
Pablo is quite smitten with the people bed, so that is where he was put to convalesce when he got home.

 

This is the life...  the people bed with a fan blowing cool air on my face!
This is the life… the people bed with a fan blowing cool air on my face!

 

Now if someone could just get her to stop taking pictures!!!!!
Now if someone could just get her to stop taking pictures!!!!!

 

Kind of an aside, but related to this story:

At pick up, the clinic dinged me for a toenail trim.    Apparently they were ‘extremely long’ (a pretty big exaggeration), and I was chastised for not taking better care of  him.  Pablo’s history was relayed to the clinic at drop off, more particularly to the very tech who implied I was neglectful and irresponsible.  Yes, those were the words used.

To the rather long sermon I received, kid you not, centering around what a horrible person I was for not taking better care of Pablo’s toenails, in the presence of others waiting to pick up their dogs and cats, I responded  (paraphrased, but the same message) thusly:

“You know you’re right!  Let’s put aside the fact I just spent a chunk of change fixing the teeth of a dog that technically isn’t even mine, we probably should have left him tied to the tree since I can’t be responsible enough to keep his toenails at military length!”.

And I acted inappropriately…

 

16 thoughts on “Pablo’s Dental Trauma

  1. Say you were guilty of the toenail accusation-there’s no excuse for a public whipping. Very unprofessional. But since you weren’t guilty, it’s reprehensible. People who should know better spout out without knowing the entire circumstances.

  2. I have been there many years ago when I went to the vet because my dog was sick. I had had her for many years and she was well looked after and loved by both the boys. Turns out she had cancer and I was chastised for not taking better care of her. He also wanted to put her to sleep because it was “the kindest thing to do” . Probably right, I expect I should have been feeling my dogs boobs every other day

  3. Sorry I hit the send button by mistake. Anyway we took her out of town to another vet and had a long talk with them and they gave us medication – that would not cure her but would make her last few months a lot more pleasant. I have no idea what it was but I often wish she (the vet) had given it to me because the last few months she was like a puppy, running about like a mad thing – The last few weeks were not so good, but we cared for her and nursed her and she died in my arms. I still miss Scruffy.

    1. Ah, but how can you miss one who has never left? Do I not speak the truth in saying that Scruffy has influenced your relationship with Chienna (forgive me if I spelled her name wrong) and The Man? Scruffy continues to teach.

    1. Pablo’s nails were worn down pretty tight when Crabby cut him away from the tree – on June 25. They didn’t grow that much in a month!

Leave a Reply

