We Missed Morty’s Mortiversary!

I’m such a lousy Mom! Morty’s Mortiversary went by and we didn’t even celebrate!

For those who don’t know the story, here it is:

In the wee hours of May 27, 2012, while Crabby remained in his slumber, I was preparing to take Group 1 out for Sunday Family Desert Walk.  When I and the group reached the driveway, we found this:

 

Photo of Morty, the day he knocked at the gates of Run A Muck Ranch and demanded entry.
Photo of Morty taken for his “Found” flier, the day he knocked at the gates of Run A Muck Ranch and demanded entry.

 

I had never seen this creature before, but that didn’t mean he didn’t live somewhere nearby.   Chances are, he would just go home if left alone, so I took Group 1 and we headed to the desert.

Upon returning to The Ranch, the mutt was still there, in the driveway.   Expecting Crabby to be awake by that time, I prepared myself to make the case that the dog lying in the driveway was NOT MY FAULT!

Crabby was indeed awake, and I found him standing in front of the living room window, his hands clasped in front of him, staring outside, at nothing in particular.

“I had nothing to do with that!”, I said, referring to the interloping mutt.

“I tried to chase him away”, Crabby replied in a weak voice, “but he won’t leave.”

 

(This video was taken on Morty’s first night at The Ranch.  Poor kid was exhausted.)

 

We ignored the trespasser as we loaded Group 2 into the Waggin’ Wagon.  Well, actually, we set out a bowl of water, then we ignored him.  Off to the desert we went.

When we returned, the beast was still in our driveway.  Sigh…

More water, a bowl of food, and the Waggin’ Wagon prepared to take the beast to a 24 hour vet to check for a chip.

On the way to the vet, Crabby said, apropos of nothing, “He looks like a Morty.”  Eerily, I had that very same thought shortly before.   We should have known at that moment the future was already written and just turned around and gone home.

 

 

The vet’s office confirmed no chip.  If that wasn’t bad enough, the creature showed all the signs of having lived on the desert, fending for himself, for a very long time.

Me, I was thinking PLEASE!  Someone be looking for this dog! I peppered the area with “Found” signs.  I also posted to every Lost and Found page I could find.  For 2 weeks I searched for Morty’s home and held out hope that we would not reach the insane number of 12 dogs. I even tried to find a rescue to take him.  Can you blame me?  We already had 11 (eleven) dogs!  But my efforts were for naught, and my hopes dashed.

Crabby…  well, back on the day we had Morty checked for a chip, as we were preparing to leave, he told the tech “May as well take him home and introduce him to his brothers and sisters.”  In other words, he surrendered without a fight, the day Morty showed up in the driveway.

And now you know the rest of the story.

DSC_0032 small

 

 

We love you Morty, even if you do eat us out of house and home!

Sorry we missed your Mortiversary!

17 thoughts on “We Missed Morty’s Mortiversary!

  1. We had a West Highland Terrier X and I adored her so much. She was my friend and I still miss her. I wish I could have met Morty. I think we would have got on well.

Leave a Reply

