My Failure as a Mom: The Case of Not So Happy Hector

As a human, I really should give myself a little mercy here:

Remember,  not too long ago,  I tore the cornea in my eye.  I was never able to do a follow-up visit with an Opthamologist because all 3 times I scheduled appointments, and notified my clients I needed to focus on my work so I could get done on time, a potentially life altering landscape emergency (or so I was lead to believe)  occurred,  requiring my immediate attention.  The result: After 2 re-schedules of my appointment, I finally stopped trying altogether.

It's true what they say, it's nearly impossible to drink with an e-collar on.  Thank your lucky stars I didn't do an eating demo...  with spagetti!
This was me back when I got hurt.

That the landscape maintenance person is available at all times – important.  That she can see – unimportant.   Fortunately, I’m not bitter in the least…

Point I’m trying to make here, even as I write this, I am still significantly blurry in my injured eye, now weeks after originally doing the damage.  Distance viewing – I’m fine.  Anything close up – not so much, at least with both eyes open.

Again, as a human, a little slack is assumed.  But I’m a Mom.  Mom’s get slack when they’re dead!

Anyway, back to Hector.   Last, I think it was Wednesday, I came home to what appeared to my half blind self,  Hector’s 3rd eye lid stuck shut.   The eye was watery and he had trouble keeping it open, but he didn’t appear to be in any real discomfort.

I had shut down early from work because I had something I had to do, so I made an appointment with the vet for a few hours later.   Wouldn’t want Hector to interfere with my plans, now would we?

Turns out, that cloudiness in Hector’s eye – it was a severe corneal tear.

Begin realization I’m a lousy mother…….. now!

Why'd ya make me wait Mom? I thought you loved me.
Why’d ya make me wait Mom? I thought you loved me.

 

My corneal tear – not so bad.  Hector’s was visible from space to a sighted person.  Even to a half blind one when his eye was held open for me and I stood back a little.

My injury hurt like the dickens.  Hector had to be in excruciating pain.  That I made him wait a few hours to get needed medical attention was unacceptable enough, that I’m not really clear on when he originally became injured is reprehensible!

Hector is never not happy, even with his eye apparently sliced to smithereens.   That being said, as the vet was examining his eye, Hector whimpered a little.  It was the first time ever I’ve heard Hector cry.  I would have ripped my own eye out right then and there if it would have taken Hector’s pain away, and he would never cry again.

Hector was sedated, and the edges of the tear smoothed.   We were sent home with Atropine drops (numbs),  antibiotic drops, and a special serum I am not of the mental capacity to describe.  The Atropine to be given every 24 hours, but 20 minutes before any other drop.  The other 2 drops, every 3 hours, 15 minutes apart.  (Try living my life and remembering that!  That reminds me, it’s probably time for another Feed Time at Run A Muck Ranch post!)

Generally speaking, when told ‘every 3 hours’,  it means during waking hours.  Because I couldn’t guarantee when I could get home between jobs to medicate at the time, for the first few nights, Hector and I slept on the couch and woke up every 3 hours.  My schedule tweaks as the month goes by.  This week I’m able sneak home between jobs to ‘do the deed’.  Hector and I are back to sleeping through the night.

I have a pretty clear empathy for Hector’s condition, so we didn’t attempt pictures early on, but here are a few during one of  last night’s Hector Wrangling sessions:

 

I've found the stove top with the hood light on works best.  Crazy dogs are easier to control when elevated.   Hector can actually hold his eye open now.  It's just as soon as I put him up there, he knows what's coming.  The eye starts watering and he doesn't want to open it.
I’ve found the stove top works best as a Hector Wrangling ring. Crazy dogs are easier to control when elevated (good tidbit for everyone to know). Hector can actually hold his eye open now, but as soon as I put him on the stove, he knows what’s coming. The eye starts watering and he doesn’t want to open it.  Turn on the stove light, shut my right eye and we’re good to go!  Note the time on the stove clock.
I've found that pulling Hector's ear back and holding while scruffing him, I can control him better.
I’ve found that by pulling Hector’s ear back and holding  it with the same hand I’m scruffing him with, I can control him better.  I hate handling him this way.
Once the drop is in, immediately hold his face for a few seconds.   Otherwise he will rub his eye.
Once the drop is in, I have to hold his face for a little while, otherwise he’ll rub his eye.

Remember how I mentioned to note the time in the first caption?  It wasn’t to point out that I was up wayyyy past my bed time, but that the entire process took less than a minute.  Probably even less than 30 seconds.   When we first started doing this, it took minutes.    Imagine doing that several times a day, 15 or 20 minutes apart depending on what is going in at the time!

I think on some level Hector knows I'm trying to help him, and for that reason he's always quick to forgive me for submitting him to what he considers torture.
I think on some level Hector knows I’m trying to help him, and for that reason he’s always quick to forgive me for submitting him to what he considers torture.

We’re almost a week into treatment, and Hector will be going in for a re-check at 10 days.  So far, all appears to be healing well.

We don’t know how Hector hurt himself.   3 years ago, Maude took a pretty good whack to the eye resulting in a tear from being too close to Sarah’s wagging tail.  Perhaps such sinister circumstances befell Hector as well.  We’ll never know.

Never a dull moment at Run A Muck Ranch!

17 thoughts on “My Failure as a Mom: The Case of Not So Happy Hector

    1. Sorry for the delay in responding. If you read the next blog entry written after this one, things went south the very next day. Happy Hector is now Happy One Eyed Hector 😦

    1. Thank you for the re-blog! Sadly, the story continued with a serious decline the very next day. Hector is well, but sans one eye now 😦

  1. Kali says that Hector was pretty adventurous but mellow. You haven’t lived until you’ve received a shot in your eyeball. OK, now it’s on everyone’s bucket list.

Leave a Reply

