Why Not? Run A Muck Ranch Once Again Suffers Injury

We had a good streak for a week before hardship once again befell Run A Muck Ranch.

.

.

.

This time in the form of  a torn cornea in the eye.

.

.

.

While eye injuries, if left alone, are quick to heal, the trick is getting them to be left alone.

.

.

.

 

Enter, sigh… once again the e-collar.

.

.

.

We spared you the oozing mess that is my eye, by keeping it closed.  Then again, it's not as if I could open it voluntarily anyway.
We spared you the oozing mess that is my eye, by keeping it closed. Then again, it’s not as if I could open it voluntarily anyway.

 

For the record:  Vito has been most concerned with my well being, becoming attached to my person at all times.  Willy is quite sure I would feel much better faster if I continuously rub his belly.  The rest of the kids, as long as they get fed on time, they are not worried in the least.

 

And because we live in such a dusty environment, (and dog hair), I get to wear a pirate patch.
And because we live in such a dusty environment, (and dog hair), I get to wear a pirate patch.

 

It's true what they say, it's nearly impossible to drink with an e-collar on.  Thank your lucky stars I didn't do an eating demo...  with spagetti!
It’s true what they say, it’s nearly impossible to drink with an e-collar on. Thank your lucky stars I didn’t do an eating demo… with spaghetti!

 

Landscapers get no mercy, so I wasn’t able to take time off from work.

 

OK, so this one was staged.  This particular property wasn't even on the schedule that day, but I needed some documentation!
OK, so this one was staged. This particular property wasn’t even on the schedule that day, but I needed some documentation!

 

Before going to the property where the ‘staged’ photo was taken, I did a couple of others.

The first one is inhabited by German ex-pats.  The lady of the house came out to discuss a few things.  Kid you not, she looked me straight in the eye (the only visible eye that is) and never even reacted to the fact her landscaper was wearing a dog’s e-collar and a pirate patch.   Either a) Germans are too polite to comment when it appears their landscaper has gone off the deep end,  b) similarly clad servant class workers in Germany are the norm, or c) I want whatever medication she’s on!   Needless to say, I did not ask her to take a picture.

The second property housed a client couple who just came into town.  I haven’t seen them in nearly a year.  I noticed the He walking about inside the house, but he did not come out.  As I was finishing the property, the She came out.  “Oddly” she did not approach as close as she usually does, instead, saying “{Crazy} (no pun intended)..how ARE you????.  From what I gather, her groom who she married long after she hired me, wasn’t sure if he should call the Funny Farm or the Police, so he got his Lady out of her sick-bed to find out which.   Fortunately, She has a great sense of humor, and felt my odd attire was hysterical.  Since she was sick, I thought it would be unkind to put a camera in her hand.  Her patio sits high above her lawn.  A photo of an e-collar adorned, pirate patched landscaper, mowing the lawn at that angle, would have been down right adorable.  Turns out, about 10 guests were arriving the next day.  If I those same guests had all awaken to such a sight, according to the She, it would have made everyone’s week.

No one was home at the other properties, but there were a few double takes from people driving by and there was one lady walking her dog who did her very best to appear she wasn’t looking.

I’ve been religious with the pirate patch, the eye irrigations and the eye drops, and my eye is healing nicely.  But something more dismal might be striking Run A Muck Ranch in the near future:

Both Crabby and I sat for a very long time in a hospital Emergency Room inhaling diseases most foul, and ultimately never getting looked at.   We’re pretty sure we have become the outbreak monkeys of  a monster chimera virus “The H1N1, H1N2, SARS, Ebola, Bubonic Plague Flu” and, given our luck, are expecting body parts to start falling off any day now.

Special Shout Out to the NextCare Urgent Care center at Tatum and the 101 for taking care of me the next morning.  If we released the Super Bug in your facility, sorry about that!

Can someone please explain to me why we haven’t been approached to have our own reality show?

16 thoughts on “Why Not? Run A Muck Ranch Once Again Suffers Injury

  1. Now you know. It’s the “Kurse of Kali”. It’s funny, Kali mentioned that you were quite normal for a crazy lady with a crab for a husband and 13 idiots to feed. She says you should get better but the cone of shame becomes you and you should keep it as a signature statement.

    1. No Kurse could ever be associated with Ms. Kali!

      Incidentally, at The Ranch, we call it the Cone of Courage 🙂

    1. Thanks!

      Tell your friends at PMR to have an event on Sunday once in a while! I would love to bring Marcy to meet her peeps, but I work Saturdays!

    1. Sorry Easy! I’ve been a very good girl, leaving the eye alone, so I don’t need the e-collar any more. There won’t be any eating spaghetti demonstrations while wearing said e-collar.

    1. Still feeling the fact that I have an eyeball, but appearing to be recovering faster than the doctor predicted 🙂

  2. I had a clothes hanger poke into my eye once and the surface of my eye tore a bit, only I didn’t realise and never saw the doctor and it ached for days. Get well and comfortable soon. Probably shouldn’t be blogging too much! Haha 😛

    1. Not sure if it was the dead piece of Rosemary that flicked in my eye that I couldn’t get out, or the gobs of glochids floating off the prickly pears I had to remove. It could have been both. All I know is I rubbed my eye at the dump and pretty much anyone within a 10 mile radius heard the scream.

      It actually has been healing faster than I was told to expect, which is a good thing, considering I dinged the other eye on my first job this morning….

Leave a Reply

