A Sad Yet Happy Post

Work has been quite the bear of late, and the camera has been acting up.  The result: not much time to write and I lost the absolutely, most positively, cutest picture there ever could or can be, of Mortimer and Marcy, last night.  Bummer.

In lieu of something witty or cute, I give you this link to a story out of the UK.

There’s just something about an old, content dog…  especially when they have been with you as life goes full circle – puppy to elderly.

We have had our share of watching our kids grow old and leave us, and yes, it hurts to say goodbye, but sadness at the end can never counter the love and laughter that happened before.

Here at Run A Muck Ranch, we are too old to do puppies anymore, but we look forward to watching the eyes of our Deviants go from mischievous to wise, content, and knowing,  as they reach their golden years, and when it’s time to say goodbye, we will be left with memories we wouldn’t trade for the world.

Spend more time looking at the pictures, they say so much.  Not really liking some of the wording of the article’s author.  

Why do I say this is a sad yet happy post?  Look at the dogs.  Do you see anything in their eyes that says they feel anything less than loved?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2510103/Beautiful-heart-breaking-pictures-terminally-ill-elderly-pets-final-embrace-loving-owners-just-die.html

8 thoughts on “A Sad Yet Happy Post

  1. I’m almost 11½ and a rescue, I don’t know what would have happened or where I’d be without my peeps. I may leave *(against my wishes) but I wouldn’t trade them for anything.

  2. That would be the moment I dread the most in my life. Even though it is inevitable for any pet lover, I can’t even bear to think about it.
    Having said that, I never have joys of living with my Binnie if I shy away from the pain of farewell. The thing I am determined to do is giving him the best life he can possibly have with us and enjoy every moment of it.

  3. My Fiona is getting up in years, a little more gray but still going pretty strong. She gets tired earlier now….. it is going to hurt. Since Sisu Beads and meeting so many amazing people and their stories of their pups…..touring pet cremation places…… being suddenly exposed to this part of life…………..big exhale,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,yes this is going to hurt.

    1. If it didn’t hurt, you didn’t do it right. You just have to remember that Fiona changed you in ways only she could have. You focus on your life together, not the loss. When push comes to shove, even though we lose in the end, we would do it all over again.

Leave a Reply

