A Lesson From My Maude

As stated in the Run A Muck Ranch News Bulletin:  Medical Edition, Maude has what amounts to an untreatable health condition that requires daily active walks to keep her ‘Regular’.

These mandatory walks take place after work.

n1292078434_30218715_7280291

Having 12 dogs to deal with before work, right from bed, I hit the ground running.  I then spend the day doing the work of 3 people in active, physical labor, and have to be sure to be done in time to get back to the same 12 dogs – and by 12 I mostly mean Morty and Slugger – before they burn the house down.  Generally, I am away for 9ish hours a day.  When I get home, everyone needs to be fed and medicated, plus the house tidying, plus, plus, plus.  And remember, there are 12 k9’s who want attention.

Generally, I sprint from about 4:45 a.m. (I get to sleep late this time of year) until 6pm-ish, and then am ready for bed by 8.   As the days get lighter longer, so too grow my work days.

Now let’s add in a walk for Maude to the routine.  Eeeek!

340751_2194860673013_1292078434_31985841_1478964482_o

So now you have the scene:  I have sprinted all day, have sprinted home, and have sprinted to get Maude out for our first walk.  As we reach the end of the driveway the phone rings:  It is an impatient client who wants to discuss a special project.

So there I am still sprinting, talking a mile a minute with an impatient client.  We reach the end of the street and turn right without stopping.  Still sprinting.

Then I hear it.  A soft “woof”.  I look down , and to my right, very slightly ahead of me, is Maudie looking up at me, with the most heartbreaking expression on her face, trying her best to keep up.

My Maudie, 13 years old.  Maudie who always has to keep up with her siblings when we are out on desert walks.  Maudie, just diagnosed with a benign problem that still could be cause to lose her.  Maudie, so excited when her Mom took her from the back yard, just her, and no one else.

And then there’s me, sprinting and ignoring her.

My voice cracked a little as I told my impatient client she would have to wait, that I had something very important I had to do right then.  I hung up the phone  and bent down to hug  Maude.

We then continued our walk, at Maude’s pace, and I talked to her and only her.

From that day forward, when we’re on our walks, I only answer the phone if it’s Crabby.  Though we do sometimes take one of the other siblings – Maude does love them – we never move fast.  Always at Maude’s pace.

We have never sprinted since that first walk.  When push comes to shove, anyone else in the world –  not important.  That old lady dog – important.  For a portion of every day, she is all that exists.  It’s all about priorities.

DSC_6169_1861

It’s only been a couple of weeks since we started these walks, but already I have started to look forward to them as much as Maude.  Turns out, strolling through the desert with my best lady is actually very relaxing and recharging.  I only wish we started doing it years ago.

I always say that I would walk through fire for any of my kids.  Maude isn’t asking me to do that.  All she asks is that I walk slow.

You got it honey.

6 thoughts on “A Lesson From My Maude

    1. Thanks for the kinds words. As far as busyness… I am actually a very lazy person. If I don’t keep it moving, I would spend all my time sleeping 🙂

  1. What a brilliant brilliant post! How many things do we regret? When we should have been more patient, it is so easy to take our furiend and family for granted, thank you for reminding us not to!

  2. Yup – my little not only walks slowly at times but he also gets tired at times. People might thing it strange to see a person walking along with one dog on a lead and one dog in my arms. But that’s what we have to do – he needs a rest from time to time. He is getting on.

    1. We’ve had a couple little ones through the years whose idea of a ‘great family walk’ was to be carried the whole way. And sometimes Angus gets tired, so I have to carry him. Isn’t it amazine the power these critters have over us???

Leave a Reply

